Brentwood woman honored with Council on Aging Sage Award

Brentwood woman honored with Council on Aging Sage Award

Home Page staff reports

The Council on Aging of Middle Tennessee recently recognized four honorees and 19 nominees for this year’s Sage Awards for visionary leadership and lifelong commitment to improving quality of life for others.

The 2016 Sage Awards honorees include Brentwood’s Cleatrice C. McTorry, along with Berdelle T. Campbell (Nashville), Rep. Brenda Gilmore (Nashville) and James V. Vandiver (Nashville).

McTorry has dedicated her life to promoting economic empowerment and equal rights. She enjoyed a distinguished 30-year career in the federal court system with accolades as the first female federal probation officer in the state of Tennessee and the first African-American CEO of the United States Probation and Pretrial Services Office.

In retirement, she continues her life’s work by mentoring Tennessee inmates. She is the founder, past president and now serves as the first vice president of the Middle Tennessee Section of the National Council of Negro Women, Inc. (MTS-NCNW).

McTorry is also an active member of Mount Pisgah UMC, Top Ladies of Distinction Inc., Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority and Silhouettes of Kappa Alpha Psi Fraternity, Inc.

Annually, the Council on Aging of Middle Tennessee recognizes older adults who have devoted their lives to improving their community through its distinguished Sage Awards program. Nominees have demonstrated a lifelong commitment to improving the quality of life where they have lived and worked. Eligibility includes any older adult (age 55 and older) living in the Middle Tennessee area served by the Council on Aging. Awardees will be honored at a luncheon held at the Omni Hotel in Nashville on Oct. 18.

“The Council on Aging strives to create a community that values the wisdom and experience of older adults,” said Grace Smith, executive director. “The Sage Awards are a wonderful opportunity for us to acknowledge men and women who have devoted their lives to improving quality of life for others. This year’s nominees all deserve recognition for their active role in improving their communities. “

Sage Award honorees (couples or individuals) and alternates are selected each year by the Sage Awards Committee from the nominations received. Nominations from previous years may also be considered by the committee.

The Sage Awards Committee is comprised of past Sage Award recipients, COA board members, and community volunteers.

About The Author

Kelly Gilfillan is the owner-publisher of Home Page Media Group which has been publishing hyperlocal news since 2009.

Related posts

Leave a Reply