Franklin woman named Conservationist of the Year by Tennessee Wildlife Federation

Franklin woman named Conservationist of the Year by Tennessee Wildlife Federation

Two women who worked on a statewide plan to safeguard and utilize Tennessee’s water resources were among recipients of Conservation Achievement Awards from the Tennessee Wildlife Federation, one of the largest and oldest nonprofits dedicated to the conservation of Tennessee’s wildlife and natural resources.

Dr. Shari Meghreblian of Franklin, and Elaine Boyd of Hendersonville, both earned recognition for their work on TN H2O, a comprehensive statewide water plan to safeguard the future of the state’s water resources.

In her role as Deputy Commissioner of the Tennessee Department of Environment and Conservation, Dr. Shari Meghreblian proposed the development of the first comprehensive and statewide water plan. Boyd, Senior Advisor at the Tennessee Department of Environment and Conservation, served as the project manager for the plan, known as TN H2O, managing 100 expert volunteers as she shepherded the statewide project to completion.

Elaine Boyd, senior advisor, Tennessee Department of Environment and Conservation. // SUBMITTED

The concept of TN H2O became a central part of Gov. Haslam’s administration and, ultimately, reflects the views and needs of Tennessee’s diverse regions and industries.

Meghreblian was named Conservationist of the Year for conceiving of the plan, and Boyd was named Water Conservationist of the Year for overseeing the plan to completion.

Today, Meghreblian owns Triple Edge Strategies, a consulting firm that advises public and private sector leaders about navigating the crossroads of energy, environment, and the economy.

The Conservation Achievement Awards have been given out since 1966. The ceremony was held in Nashville and presented 17 awards to recipients from all corners of the state.

“The diverse group of award winners today serves as a reminder that successful conservation will always depend on a diverse and collaborative effort,” said Michael Butler, CEO of the Federation. “Our honorees have conducted important field work, secured crucial support, educated the next generation, and so much more.”

The event was sponsored by Bridgestone, BDY Natural Sciences Consultants, and the National Wildlife Federation. The complete list of honorees of the 54th Annual Conservation Achievement Awards is as follows:

  • Conservationist of the Year – Dr. Shari Meghreblian of Franklin, Tenn.

  • Dr. John. O. “Jack” Gayden Leadership Award – Monty Halcomb of Wartrace, Tenn.

  • J. Clark Akers, III Champion of Conservation Award for years of service to the Federation – Jim and Jean Maddox of Nashville, Tenn.

  • Chairman’s Award – Sam Mars, III of Harrogate, Tenn.

  • Conservation Legislator of the Year – Congressman David Kustoff of Germantown, Tenn.

  • Wildlife Conservationist of the Year – Mary Jennings of Sparta, Tenn.

  • Land Conservationist of the Year – Ralph Knoll of The Conservation Fund from LaGrange, Ga.

  • Water Conservationists of the Year – Elaine Boyd of Hendersonville, Tenn.

  • Forest Conservationist of the Year – Austin Bibb of Munford, Tenn.

  • Conservation Organization of the Year – Tennessee B.A.S.S. Nation High School of Winchester, Tenn.

  • Conservation by Business – Genera Energy of Vonore, Tenn.

  • Conservation Educator of the Year – Dr. Jonathan Evans of Sewanee, Tenn.

  • Conservation Communicator of the Year – Dr. David Sloas of Cordova, Tenn.

  • Youth Conservationist of the Year – Cash Daniels of Chattanooga, Tenn.

  • On Target Award for outstanding support of the Tennessee Scholastic Clay Target Program – Lance Rider of McKenzie, Tenn.

  • Dan & Cherie Hammond Sharing the Harvest Award for outstanding support of Hunters for the Hungry – Larry Ross of Hickory Valley, Tenn.

  • Hunter Education Instructor of the Year – Gene Smith of Memphis, Tenn.


About The Author

Related posts