Six Brentwood restaurants caught selling alcohol to underage patrons


Six Brentwood restaurants caught selling alcohol to underage patrons

By MATT BLOIS

Six Brentwood restaurants were caught selling alcohol to law enforcement informants during a single night in February.

On Thursday, the city’s Beer Board will decide what kind of penalty to impose.

On February 27, the Brentwood Police Department and the Tennessee Alcoholic Beverages Commission sent a confidential informant to several business in Brentwood to try to buy alcohol.

The informant was under direct supervision of undercover agents from the Alcoholic Beverages Commission. Those agents saw employees serve the underage informant alcohol.   

Between 5 p.m. and 9 p.m. the informant bought alcohol from 55 South, Brick’s Cafe and Bistro, Hanabi Japanese Restaurant, Jefferson’s Restaurant, Local Taco and Stout Burgers and Beers. It was the first time any of these restaurants were caught selling alcohol to underage patrons in Brentwood.

The Alcoholic Beverages Commission agents issued a State of Tennessee Misdemeanor Citation to the bartenders and servers that served the drinks, and an administrative citation to the businesses.

None of the businesses are contesting the charges, and the restaurants have already made several changes to make sure they don’t sell to underage patrons again. Stout Burgers and Beers now writes the birthdate servers need to check on a whiteboard at the server station.

Jefferson’s restaurant fired the server who sold alcohol to the underage informant, and the entire front of house staff took an ID class from the Alcoholic Beverages Commission.

On Thursday, the Beer Board will decide what kind of penalty to impose. In 2002, the board created a set of guidelines for these types of violations, but it doesn’t have to follow those guidelines.

The recommended penalty for a first violation is a 30 suspension or a one week suspension with signs posted to explain the suspension. In some previous cases, the Beer board has asked businesses to pay a $1,000 to $1,500 penalty instead of a suspension.

About The Author

Related posts

Leave a Reply